top of page



Winner of Japan's 2017 Wagyu Olympics

Kagoshima A5 Wagyu

A5 Wagyu from Kagoshima prefecture is arguably the most exquisite beef in the world. Note that any authentic Japanese Wagyu is accompanied  by a certificate of authenticity that certifies the grade and origin of the beef. We will provide you a copy of the Certificate that matches your purchase.

With so much marbling is Wagyu beef healthy?

Wagyu cattle's genetic predisposition yields a beef  that contains a higher percentage of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids than typical beef.  The increased marbling also increases the ratio of monounsaturated fats to saturated fats. All this means is that authentic Wagyu Beef contains the good fat and is healthier than conventional beef, which is high in saturated fat and has a low percentage of omega-3 to Omega-6 fatty acids.

Kagoshima vs. other Wagyu brands such as Kobe beef

Wagyu cattle is raised in many regions (prefectures) of Japan. Arguably the most well known region is Kobe, but many other regions such as Kagoshima or Miyasaki produce exceptional Wagyu as well. Every 5 years, Japan hosts a Best Beef Olympics and Kagoshima won the Gold award in the last Olympics in 2017.

What is Wagyu Beef?

Wagyu (和牛 Wagyū) literally means "Japanese cow“. True authentic Japanese Wagyu comes from any of these Japanese pure breeds: Japanese Black (黒毛和種 Kuroge Washu),  Japanese Brown (赤毛和種 Akage Washu or Akaushi),  Japanese Polled (無角和種 Mukaku Washu), and Japanese Shorthorn (日本短角和種 Nihon Tankaku Washu). Kagoshima Wagyu comes from the Kuroge Washu breed.

Japanese Wagyu graded A4 or A5 achieves the highest marbling of any beef in the world. Marbling or intramuscular fat is responsible for tenderness, juiciness, and umami flavor. American or Australian Wagyu is typically a crossbreed between Japanese and a local breed. The result is still very good, but they do not achieve the marbling of true A4 or A5 Wagyu.

What does the A5 grade mean?

Only the highest quality Wagyu is graded A5. Wagyu is graded based on five categories: 

•Beef Marbling Standard

•Beef Fat Standard

•Beef Color Standard

•Firmness and texture

•Yield (usable meat from any cut, the higher the yield the less you have to trim)

Yield is graded from A to C, with A featuring the highest yield. The remaining four categories

are graded on a scale from 1 to 5. In order for Wagyu to achieve A5 grade, it needs to be graded “Grade A” for yield and “Grade 5” in the remaining four categories.

bottom of page